Blogember – Day 1

Standard




Happy November, friends. Look at me, trying another attempt at a blog. I know, this is the umpteenth time, but for the month of November I’m challenging myself to write once a day, every day. I’m participating in Blogember!

The first prompt, which I am getting in just under the wire, is:

One of the best lessons life has shown you

It’s difficult to choose one lesson, because what is life other than a culmination of lessons? However, I think one of the most important lessons I ever learned was being kind, and thinking of the needs of others.

I will never forget, one of our first trips back to New York after we’d moved to California. I must have been about 8 or so, and we were in the city to watch my dad run the New York Marathon – at least I think that’s why were were there. We had stopped to get slices of pizza, and with mine I’d had a chocolate milk. I was carrying with me my half drank chocolate milk and half eaten second slice of pizza when we passed a homeless man on the street.

I don’t remember anything about him, except that he looked cold. It was November, and I’d been in California just long enough to be especially cold by the New York fall.

My dad stopped, spoke briefly to the man, asking “Are you hungry?” He then turned to me and said, “Catherine, are you going to eat that?” I shook my head, no. He then gave the leftover pizza and chocolate milk to the man who smiled and was extremely grateful.

I know that giving to the homeless is somewhat controversial, but I will never forget the feeling I had after giving that man my food – the understanding that he was a kind of hungry I had never felt, and would hopefully never feel. The understanding that, while it wasn’t much, the simple act of stopping, and offering what we had to someone who had nothing was important.

Since then, I’ve seen both of my parents give money and food to homeless men and women and when I can, I do the same. Why? Because, sometimes, if you can spare something, anything, helping another person is the most important thing you can do.

2 thoughts on “Blogember – Day 1

    • Right!?
      I get really upset when people get super judgmental about giving anything to the homeless, mostly because I feel like, when you give something to someone it’s no longer yours. So, like when you give a gift, you don’t get to decide how it’s used. Maybe they don’t actually like the gift/have need for it. Maybe it’s the wrong size, maybe they choose to return or exchange it. Just because they do something you don’t agree with, with that gift, doesn’t mean anything. You can’t take back a gift.

      Anyway – rant over haha

Leave a Reply

