Blogember – Day 4

Standard



November 4: Write for 5 minutes on the prompt: Freedom

I started watching Orange is the New Black this weekend, and it’s making me think a lot about freedom. I know everyone’s been raving about this show but it makes me a little bit sad. Actually, more than a little bit sad, a lot sad.

Yes, the show has funny moments, but what makes it truly sad to me is not the funny parts. The truly sad thing about this show is how insanely messed up our prison systems. It makes my heart break for everyone who is incarcerated, because it’s really easy to forget they are human beings. Human beings who are frequently treated little better than animals.

I’m sure this is also the point of the show, but it just gives me the sads.

2 thoughts on “Blogember – Day 4

  1. Yes, I LOVE the show, but it is also very, very sad, and I think it’s supposed to be. Which is why I felt so weird about a lot of people posting Halloween pictures where people had dressed up as the characters. Like, if I didn’t know the show wasn’t based on a NONFICTION book, it would have been a LITTLE better, but only a little. These are REAL PEOPLE…not costumes. And so many lesbian fans particularly seem to think that the Piper/Alex storyline is the main point of the show and I’m just like THAT IS NOT THE MAIN POINT OF THE SHOW. haha, anyway, rant over. 🙂

    • I think you’re totally right. It gave me such mixed feelings, and made me really sad and uncomfortable most of the time. SO many issues brought up within the show, which is the point for sure. I haven’t read the book yet, but plan to. My friend was telling me it’s filled with a ton of really great/interesting facts about incarceration and the prison system and how it’s failing our inmates and society in general.

      I understand that it definitely has humor, I think it has to – and all of life, even the worst times/sad times/ crazy times have humor in them, but you’re right – a lot of people seem to be missing the bigger picture. The fact that this is a really interesting/depressing commentary on our penal system and how we treat human beings.

Leave a Reply

